Charlie’s Top Ten Lists

Standard
Charlie’s Top Ten Lists

Our family loves to make Top Ten lists (i.e.: Favorite Places We’ve Been, Things That Made You Laugh Today, Things You Love About Mom ;), etc.) so we asked Charlie to do the same about life in Japan as a missionary. The results are in, and here they are:

maneki neko

 

Top Ten Things Charlie Loves About Japan

1. I love the people.
2. I love the food.
3. I love how it rains a lot, even though it’s hard to bike in.
4. I love how Obaachans [grandmas] walk around on their own everywhere.
5. I love talking to people on trains.
6. I love giving American pennies to little kids.
7. I love how everywhere you go there is either a ramen shop or a convenience store within sight.
8. I love how the garbage trucks sing little songs as they roll around town.*
9. I love how there is always a vending machine on every street in every neighborhood.
10. I love how all the business men and women dress. Everyone dresses really nice for work.
silver_crossing

A street sign reminding drivers to be mindful of the elderly. It says “Silver Zone.” Only in Japan!

vending-machine

If you can’t find what you want in one of these vending machines, you are way too picky.

charlie green tea ice

Charlie tries a green tea ice cream bar. And no, it’s not against the Word of Wisdom. (from our trip to Japan in 2012)

corner ramen shop

A corner ramen shop in Osaka.

rainy kyoto

Another rainy day in Japan.

*singing garbage trucks–he is not making this up, they really do play catchy little tunes from loudspeakers while they collect the trash (like ice cream trucks in America, only minus the ice cream). Watch this little video below:

(You’re welcome.)


 Top  Ten Things Charlie Loves About Being a Missionary

1. I love learning the gospel more and more every day.
2. I love being put in situations where you have no option but to just follow the spirit and put your shoulder to the wheel.
3. I love working with the wonderful members of the church.
4. I love building strong legs because I have to bike everywhere.
5. I love watching the hand of the Lord guiding everyone’s lives.
6. I love having opportunities to testify of Jesus Christ every single day.
7. I love trying to be a good companion.
8. I love looking for opportunities to help people every day.
9. I love seeing people I teach progress in the gospel and come closer to the Savior and feel more of God’s love in their lives.
10. I love not having to worry about anything but serving the Lord.
Bike helmet + suit=Mormon missionary

Building those strong leg muscles!

15.02.23 kyoto ysa

The elders pal around with some YSA members in Kyoto.

15.03.05 bbye gooch

With his companion Yamaguchi Choro.


Top Ten Best Moments on the Mission So Far

1. Baptizing Shota san and Fukumitsu Shimai.
2. Yesterday at church hearing the wonderful Senri ward’s testimonies and feeling everyone’s friendship.
3. Teaching zone training meeting and feeling like everyone was helped.
4. Seeing Shota share his conversion story with all of the missionaries in the zone.
5. Every night when I kneel in prayer and talk with my Heavenly Father.
6. Street contacting with Elder Novak. We did some pretty goofy things.
7. Praying with the members in the ward council in Nishinomiya ward about the number of prepared people in our area.
8. Holding my first conversation in Japanese.
9. Feeling love from my family on Christmas on Skype.
10. I love that moment when you find someone in the last apartment in the building.
14.10.23 shota san

At Shota san’s baptism in October.

03-14-33-fukumitsu-san

At Fukumitsu Shimai’s baptism, March 2014.

04.14.29 YSA

With some of the ward members in his first area.


Top Ten Things I Miss From Back Home (not limited to ten)
1. Watching old movies with the fam.
2. Playing sports with Dad and Sam.
3. Having Frau sleep between my legs so I can’t move.
4. Building random purposeless things with my free time in the garage.
5. Reading scriptures and praying as a family.
6. Driving you crazy with techno music.
7. Asking Papa a question about anything and hearing a well-educated answer.
8. Walking into the cleanest, best smelling house ever whenever we go to Grandma and Grandpa Bahr’s.
9. Feeling all of Baba’s wonderful quilts.
10. Watching Boobear [his nickname for Jane] make random little projects.
11. Playing golf with my dad.
And many more of course…
photo (2)

Charlie’s beloved Frau (a.k.a. Fraulein Maria, our mini schnorkie) who loves sleeping on Charlie’s bed.

 


Well, that’s it for Charlie’s Top Ten lists. If we were to write a list of “Top Ten Things We Miss About Charlie” it would far exceed ten. And it would sound rather depressing, like he were dead, which he’s not. So we won’t go there. Suffice it to say, we miss everything about him. (Except maybe his weird techno music. No–actually I even miss that.)

In Charlie's grandma's home town of Shimanto, Japan, at Dragonfly Park, June 2012.

In Charlie’s grandmother’s home town of Shimanto, Japan, at Dragonfly Park, June 2012.

 

 

2 responses »

  1. Hi Charlie & Ellen, This is my favorite of all of your posts. I agree with you on so many of your top-ten favorite things. For instance, I too, love being able to spend as long as I wish talking with Heavenly Father, and it’s the main thing I look forward to each day ~ and like you, I love watching old movies. My all time favorite old movie is Stagecoach, made in 1937. It was the first big part for John Wayne, and it was the movie that made him a star. I love your wonderful photos ~ and I especially like the ones that have you in them because I think you are more handsome than ever. We are fine. We all continue to pray for your safety and your success. Everyone misses the Bahrs. Love, Carol Brant

    Date: Sat, 7 Mar 2015 19:17:04 +0000 To: silverspurs51@msn.com

  2. Charlie,

    This is what I remember:
    1. I love the people. Absolutely!
    2. I love the food. Big time…with a few exceptions.
    3. I love how it rains a lot, even though it’s hard to bike in. Not having grown up in the west, I could have lived with this a little less especially during monsoons (nothing like Arizona monsoons).
    4. I love how Obaachans [grandmas] walk around on their own everywhere. Obaachans are pretty cool and tough as I remember.
    5. I love talking to people on trains. Always fun.
    6. I love giving American pennies to little kids. Also always fun.
    7. I love how everywhere you go there is either a ramen shop or a convenience store within sight. Ramens at ramen shops are incredible. I miss that.
    8. I love how the garbage trucks sing little songs as they roll around town.* I especially liked the beni trucks (toilet pumps) that did the same thing…always good for a fun prank on a new U.S. missionary.
    9. I love how there is always a vending machine on every street in every neighborhood. I mostly remember them at the ekis.
    10. I love how all the business men and women dress. Everyone dresses really nice for work. I liked the little kids in their uniforms. They seemed to be mostly yellow and blue. Loved the kimonos.
    11. I loved the amazing spirit of the members—some really choice people!

    Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

