Deep Thoughts by Charlie Bahr

Standard
14.09.05 temple
There’s a lot to catch up on in the latest adventures of Charlie Choro. The past month saw another transfer, another new companion, a lot of teaching, and a collision with a car (ouch!). So let’s get right to it, shall we?
But first, some deep thoughts by Charlie:
My testimony of revelation was really built this week, and so was the importance of following the spirit in everything we do. Missionaries have an incredibly great calling, and with that, an incredibly great stewardship. My companion and I are the the only elders who are entitled to receive revelation for everyone in this area, in addition to the bishop. Pretty scary for a couple of 19-year-old boys if you think about it, but it’s pretty awesome at the same time. We can’t receive revelation outside of our stewardship, but at the same time, we are entitled to revelation inside our stewardship, as long as we humble ourselves before the Lord and ask for it.
14.09 gate
Charlie’s eloquent thoughts on teaching:
Teaching people is the best thing ever. I love sitting down with people and just teaching them the gospel.
14.09 oldcouple

It’s even better when they feed you!

Some thoughts on getting sick in Japan:
Tuesday I spent 4 1/2 hours in the hospital waiting room. Never get sick in Japan. It takes away from your dendo* time! The lines here are way slow. But I got to learn a bunch of new doctor words, like kouseibusshitsu* and shinsatsu* and suizou* and stuff. I had a sinus infection for the past two weeks so I figured it was time to go get some antibiotics. I think I’m clear now. Hopefully that doesn’t come back, because it’s kind of hard to proselyte to a bunch of old people in a hospital waiting room. You can’t really start a conversation with “O-genki desu ka?”* because, clearly, they are not genki*. That’s why they’re in the hospital.

*dendo–missionary work       
*kouseibusshitsu--antibiotics
*shinsatsu–medical examination
*suizou–pancreas (How did that word come up?)
*“O-genki desu ka?”–“How are you?” (literally, “Are you well/healthy?”)
*genki–well/healthy
14.08bowling

The bowling alley’s new mascot.

Some thoughts on Japanese/American cultural similarities:
Wednesday we found a punk on the street. He pulled up with his moped, in which he had installed some huge speakers and was blasting techno music. (I thought, sweet, I’m gonna get along with this guy.) His name was Shun. He started asking a bunch of questions about Christian churches. We talked to him for about half an hour and we got his email and he told us he worked at KFC.  KFC? He showed us where it was. Yes, there is a KFC in our area. I was quite surprised. We’re going there this week. I hope he becomes an investigator. He’s basically from the south – he has a funny accent (Osakajin), makes fried chicken for a living, and was Baptist or something like that. Japan is way different from America in a lot of ways, but sometimes it’s exactly the same.
The Colonel serving up a little KFC in Japanese attire.

Colonel Sanders looks a little different in Japan.

Some thoughts on transfers and leaving his last area of Hanayashiki:
Well yeah, this week was sad as it was my last one in the great area of Hanayashiki. The ward was really great, full of dendo [missionary work] fire. The Bishop was awesome. The dendo was going really well, too. We had so many lessons this week that we had zero time to go out streeting or tracting or anything like that.  That was cool. I love weeks like that. I made tons of good friends there. We went to early morning seminary twice a week there and the kids even “heart-attacked” me with nice little paper hearts with messages written on them. So awesome! And as soon as everyone found out I was leaving, a bunch of different members took us out to fancy restaurants. We got to have shabu-shabu* and pizza tabehodai*. It was sweet. Once again, I poured my heart and soul into this area and saw success out of it. Maybe I should stop doing that because it seems like me getting transferred is a lot more frequent than it should be.  But, life goes on, the mission goes on, and I’ve received new responsibilities. 

*shabu-shabu–paper thin slices of beef, pork, or other meats cooked at your own table in steaming hot broth or water, then dipped into sauce. A delicious and expensive delicacy in Japan.
*tabehodai–all-you-can-eat
Charlie gets "heart attacked" by the seminary students.

Charlie gets “heart attacked” by the seminary students.

 And now for a play-by-play of his near death experience:
 What else happened this week? Oh yeah I got hit by a car. That was a fun day.
 I was on an exchange this Friday with our Zone Leader Elder Kemp. We had just visited this less-active named Satoo Kyodai who is really old and says he won’t believe in God unless he sees him. So after testifying and teaching and preaching like missionaries do, we headed back down a really windy steep hill through the forest.
Ok… here comes the fun hill, make a gradual turn left.
 
I wonder if there’s a car around this corner? Probably not. Hopefully not…
 
Uh oh. Car. 20 feet away.
 
BRAKES!
 
my bike turned sideways… I’m skidding… hopefully I’ll stop.
 
Hey where’d my bike go? I’m floating through th –
 
THUMP.
 
ouch. I just body slammed that car pretty bad.
 
Ooh… (stand up.) Are all my body parts on? Any blood?
 
Wow that’s a pretty big dent in his car. My bad…
 
(Driver) Daijobu?! Daijobu?! [Are you all right? Are you all right?]
 
(I check my body parts again) Daijobu to omoimasu [I think I’m all right]… what’s going on….
 
(Kemp Choro) DUDE ARE YOU OK?! YOU SHOULD HAVE SEEN THAT FROM BEHIND!
 
(Driver drives off.)
 
The Lord really protected me there for sure. I would have died if the car or I had been going any faster. I testify that the Lord protects his servants. I should have taken some damage more than the scrape on my hip and the bruise on my thigh. I put a huge dent in the guy’s bumper. It was intense. My neck’s a little sore from the crash but other than that I’m fine. Sinus infection is gone, too.
 
Missions are crazy. I’ve never had a bigger adventure.

There are some stories missionaries should probably not share with their mothers, for example, getting hit by a car. Or being the one who hits the car. (Then again, it does make the blog more interesting.) Thank goodness for helmets and guardian angels. And those, my friends, are the highlights from Charlie’s past few weeks. You are reading the abridged version. You’re welcome.
"I wonder if the owner of this Porsche wants to learn about the gospel?"

“I wonder if the owner of this Porsche wants to hear about the gospel?”

14.09 rice paddy

A rice field in the countryside near Hanayashiki, Charlie’s last area.

The city of Kobe, Charlie's newest area.

The city of Kobe, Charlie’s newest area.

 

Leave a Reply

